Sunshine Award!

I have been remiss in not acknowledging my debt to newsofthetimes, my favorite blogger, who nominated me for the “Sunshine Award” — and who also helped me get the logo on this page!  I have been waiting for some committee meeting at word press headquarters (in the White House cafeteria?), to vote on the matter and just found out it’s not done that way. So here’s my note of appreciation to Jennifer for the nomination: it puts me in a lofty crowd and I hope I can keep up with the rest of them!

But there are rules, and while I am not keen to answer questions about myself, I do think there are a number of blogs that deserve to be nominated for this award as well. I believe he has already won it, but musingsofanoldfart is most deserving, as is saltypoliticalmusings whose blogs have a political slant most days. Both blogs are well worth reading. Then, there is lostgenygirl who is a young woman recently out of college and hard at work who writes well and provides an interesting first-hand perspective on the “millennialists” that social scientists enjoy writing about. Then there is BucketList, a woman who seems to have been everywhere and done everything and who writes about her adventures and includes great photos as well. I must mention Tinkerbell who writes delightful poetry and has a remarkably attractive blog page. And I want to include seapunk who writes a delightful blend of fiction and autobiography, complete with great photographs. Finally, there’s circlesunderstreetlights who combines brief fictional snippets with recipes, if you can imagine.

I will answer one personal question from the list. “What is the one truth you have learned?” My answer is that you are never too old to learn. And I have learned a great deal from my fellow-bloggers, a very interesting group indeed. Having said that, I will once again make special mention of newsofthetimes and hope all of my readers check out her excellent site. She is upbeat, has important things to say, and is always thought-provoking. Further, she always has questions at the end of her blogs, and she’s genuinely interested in knowing what her readers think!

The bloggers I have nominated might want to visit this blog to see what the ten questions are that I was supposed to answer. I would prefer that my blogs reflect what I am thinking about, not what I am about. I am reluctant to put any more personal information out there for the world at large. But it is good to know that people are reading what I write and they find it worth consideration. Thanks for the award!

12 thoughts on “Sunshine Award!

  1. Congratulations!!! And thank you for all of your support and encouragement. I like what you have learned, especially as the days and years go by faster and faster!

  2. Hugh, thanks for the shout out. I think you could add that Jenni is a connector, as well. I appreciate the heads-up on other blogs you find of interest. I will need to venture there. I personally like the many and varied subject matters you have on your blog. You keep it interesting. Best wishes.

  3. Thank you so much for the nomination – the blogosphere has turned out to be a much friendlier place than I’d imagined, and it’s been lovely getting to know you through your writing :)

    Look forward to reading more from you in future

    x

  4. Pingback: Bucket List Publications Thanks You | Bucket List Publications

  5. Pingback: Award Nomination: The Sunshine Award « Lila's Twist

  6. Hey! It’s nice to be back in the swing of things, I just wanted to post a comment to you with my thanks (albeit delayed!) for the kind gesture of making my blog among one of your nominees for the Sunshine Award.
    Also, I pinged you back.
    See you soon ;)

Leave a Reply

